Welcome!

Welcome to ‘Whispers of a Painting’!

As a child I always wanted to be a painter. I had an overactive imagination full of fiery dragons, spring full of magical wild flowers, and birds that fed their baby birds ice cream (don’t judge me, I was an 8 year old with a vivid imagination).

I wanted to paint it all out, lash at a blank canvas and cover it with a rainbow of my imagination. I rather liked to think I would one day be as famous as Picasso or Van Gogh (I wasn’t picky).

So I begged and whined to my mother until she got me a set of water colors and a big white canvas ready to be splashed with color. I was so excited, I even tucked a paintbrush behind my ear to be all artsy. And then I began to paint. I spent days on it, giving it my best, trying to paint all my thoughts onto the canvas.

But it was a horrible painting to say the least. Let’s just say I couldn’t draw a stickman to save my life.

And so I gave up. I put away the paints, the brushes and the disgraceful canvas into a cupboard, stashing them away, hiding them. But I could not stop thinking of all the wild stories swirling around in my mind.

After a few weeks, while studying paintings of Van Gogh in art class, our teacher quoted: ‘a picture is worth a thousand words’. And I was like okay, maybe I can’t paint the stories but I can write them onto paper. Instead of painting with a brush, I could paint stories with a pen.

I began writing stories, pouring out all those characters that wouldn’t leave me alone. It was a lot of fun to go overboard with my imagination. I still loved paintings though, and always wondered what it would be like to live inside a painting, to live the story of it.

That’s how ‘Whispers of a Painting’ came to life. Here I’ll be sharing the stories I’ve been inspired to write by paintings from all over the world, along with the paintings themselves.

So if you like to read short stories, enjoy a bit of a wild imagination, and love paintings this is the perfect place for you. Come along with a cup of tea (or coffee) and settle in for a relaxing, yet entertaining read. I promise it’ll be fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

